A man from Raleigh, North Carolina is being charged with DWI after he was responsible for crashing into a limousine. This occurred on a Sunday morning at around 3:00 a.m. along Interstate 40. The limo was pulled to the side of the road, and the driver was in the middle of changing a flat tire when the 19-year-old suspect allegedly struck the limo. Both vehicles sustained serious damage.
The limousine was transporting eight passengers, and all of them had to be transported to the hospital along with the injured driver. The other driver, who was reported to be intoxicated, did not sustain any injuries; however, he has been charged with a provisional DWI charge. The limousine was transporting 8 passengers, all of whom were transported to the hospital along with the limo driver. The intoxicated driver did not sustain any injury but has been charged with provisional DWI.
In North Carolina, if you are under the age of 21, and are caught operating a motor vehicle on a public street or highway with any alcohol in your system, you can be convicted of a Provisional DWI. The NC General Statute states in §20-138.3 that “It is unlawful for a person less than 21 years old to drive a motor vehicle on a public highway or public vehicular area at any time while he has remaining in his body any alcohol or controlled substance previously consumed.”N.C Gen. Stat. §20-138.3(2012)
Therefore, your consumption typically determines what an underage drinker will be charged. For example, if your BAC is less than .08, you can only be charged with Provisional DWI (Underage Consuming and Driving); but, if you have ha BAC of .08 or greater, you may be charged with either a Provisional DWI, or a DWI under N.C.G.S §20-138.1. It is within the arresting officers discretion to charge you as he decides.