However, with the way the laws are continuously changing, states have upped the anty to some serious and hefty fines for DWIs; even if it is your first conviction.
Moreover, depending on what type of license you have ( standard, commercial, or motorcycle) in correlation with your Blood Alcohol Content, penalties for driving or riding while intoxicated are now mandatory. What this means is that the judge has no choice but to impose these punishments.
Thus, the question is, what happens when you get a DWI while riding your motorcycle? According to North Carolina’s Department of Transportation, you may receive any of the following penalties for riding while intoxicated:
Fines: The judge may order you to pay fines associated with your DWI. These fines are usually levied with whether or not your license has been suspended. The fines can range depending on the severity and circumstances surrounding your specific case, and the judge order the judgment.
License Suspension: If you receive a DWI while riding your motorcycle, there is a mandatory suspension of your license in the state of North Carolina for 12 months. Moreover, this suspension will occur upon conviction, arrest, or even refusal to submit to a breath test under the state’s implied consent laws.
Community Service: Depending on the level of conviction, community service will be required. It is typically at the judge’s discretion to determine the amount of hours one must serve, typically anywhere from 30-60 hours prior to their judicial review. Common methods for service are highway clean-up crews, working at emergency wards, or washing cars in the motor-vehicle pool.
Costs: Not only to you have to pay your attorney’s fees, but you will also be required to pay other court costs, the costs of your alcohol assessment classes, and suffer from lost wages, etc.